Lanigans Gallery
A few words from our Customers


"Perfect for Stag"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 7 March 2013

Overall great experience. Booked for Stag of 19, is great location, very convenient and great atmosphere. Brilliant deal with steak dinner, was gorgeous. The room were spotless and the staff very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend.

Damien N Clare, Ireland

via Tripadvisor

"Recommended"

Reviewed 7 March 2013

As hostels go, Lanigans is well above the standard of the rest. Rooms are clean and beds comfortable and location can't be beaten. The staff in the bar are great and looked after us very well. They were very flexible with breakfast times etc and went out of their way for us in general. Keep up the good work.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends

Paul K Dublin, Ireland (via Tripadvisor)

"Great fun, learned a lot about hurling, excellent food"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 8 May 2013

My wife and I were the only two in the class when we went for our Kilkenny Way experience. We knew nothing about hurling other than the fact that Irish people worship the sport.

Without explaining each step of the excursion (you can read about it on www.thekilkennyway.com), I'll just say that we enjoyed ourselves immensely. We spent over 3 hours with with PJ and a bartender at Lanigan's. We learned about hurling and the traditions and pride of the players and fans. The drills and field time was a lot of fun and we even watched some live games on the "pitch" (field we were practicing on).

The lamb stew and the fish and chips were outstanding back at Lanigan's.

This adventure will definitely be remembered for a long time. Highly recommend!!! Definitely the best activity for the money.

Visited May 2013

Danield528 Nashville, Tennessee

via Tripadvisor

"Excellent Stay & Staff"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed recently at Lanigans Hostel where we came to stay for a wonderful Hen party which was organised by them. We had dinner in Lanigans that evening which was lovely some of us had a delicious steak which was divine. The staff were really nice young man Anthony & Ciara looked after us very well and are a great asset to their employer. We have rebooked for September for a girls weekend as Kilkenny is a great place for the Craic. Good work guys see you all soon thanks from Celia. :)

Room Tip: the dorm in the hostel is great for a group

Celia, Dublin, Ireland (via Tripadvisor)

"Lots of family Fun with Kilkenny Way"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 31 March 2013

PJ and Colum were very passionate about hurling. Our family (our children are 8 & 10 y.o.) had a lot of fun with "hands-on" learning about hurling at a local pitch. Afterwards, we enjoyed a nice and hearty meal. Great value for money spent. Go and try this unique experience!
 

Globetrotter88845 Toronto, Canada

via Tripadvisor

"part sport's history, part walking tour, part training session, all FUN!"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 27 March 2013

"Coach" PJ has put together something very special and unique. His love for the sport and his pride in his city bleed throughout the eintire session. I took this course with a group of friends and it ended up being probably the VERY BEST THING during out week long trip through Ireland. No other attraction made me get a "Feel" for Ireland as much as the Kilkenny Way. For 20 euro's for great fun and a hearty meal as well, probably the best deal you'll get during a trip to Ireland. Don't mull it over, sign up and DO IT!

Visited March 2013
 

Ken T Overijse, Belgium

via Tripadvisor

"Brilliant hen activity"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 25 March 2013

Thanks to PJ for a brilliant hen activity. PJ gave us an impassioned introduction to the sport and the traditions behind it. The hurling was great fun and we all felt like we learned something. The food afterwards was a lovely end to the activity. The value was amazing. I highly recommend this for tourists and to hen parties who don't mind getting a little bit mucky.

Visited March 2013

Catherine F Belfast

via Tripadvisor

"Fantastic Fun"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 21 March 2013

PJ Lanigan's introduction to Gaelic hurling is a marvelous way to try the ancient sport. He loves the game and knows everyone in Kilkenny.

The experience includes on-field basic instruction/drills with a hurley and an opportunity to make shots, then a visit to "Legends" bar, a shrine dedicated to the sport. At conclusion, food and a pint are provided back at the pub. We had a blast.

Don't miss this singular experience and do take in a hurling match while in Ireland. Both are highly recommended.

Visited March 2013

Jeffrey R Englewood, New Jersey

via Tripadvisor

"The only way is the Kilkenny way"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 16 January 2013

This was excellent. PJ is absolutely amazing and is so passionate about hurling. He taught us New Yorkers how to hurl and it was a lot of fun. I would highly recommend this for anyone who visits Kilkenny. You haven't experienced Kilkenny until you've experienced hurling.
Visited January 2013
 

Siobhan_Caitlim Glen head, new York

via Tripadvisor

"Brilliant Hen Party activity"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 25 March 2013

16 of us had a great time on the Kilkenny Way Experience - PJ and everybody else on the Kilkenny Way team were really friendly and welcoming - all the girls - most of whom were not that sporty and usually not keen on running about much - loved it , brilliant to have a mess about on a pitch, learn about a unique amazing sport and then tuck in to tasty big plates of food in a pub.

It's the best thing to do in Kilkenny
Visited March 2013
 

Jane R Belfast

via Tripadvisor

"Wonderful Bar"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Came around St Patrick's Day, employees all wonderful and engaging. Not to busy to talk about local events, sports, things to due and places to go. Wonderful tour of new upstairs bar dedicated to Hurling. You want to experience the wonderful people of Ireland, this needs to be on your list of place to go.

Gabe4223

via Tripadvisor

"Hen Party"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 25 February 2013

We recently attending the cocktail making classes in Lanigans bar.

We were greeted by very warm and welcoming staff who accompanied us upstaires. We received a number of shots, cocktails and champagne and more importantly the bride was made a big deal off. I cannot thank the two guys who did the cocktail enough they were brill!! We shall be recommending ye to our hen friends :)

Finger food went down a treat also :)

Big shout out to Ciara for all the help!
Visited February 2013

Limericklass13 Limerick, Ireland

via Tripadvisor

"The Full Experience"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 16 January 2013

The full experience and a great crew to go along with it. You are well taken care of. The hostel was cozy, comfortable, and close-knit. Being right next to Lanigan's pub and in a convenient part of Kilkenny, you really cannot ask for more.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends

colinoneil7 Boston, Massachusetts

via Tripadvisor

"Top Class Venue"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed at the hostel recently which is owned by Lannigans Bar we decided to stay in their bar which was just a great night with a live band and a DJ to follow we danced all night.

Staff are fantastic here very helpful and friendly service is top notch, Toilets were very clean and maintained well so overall a top class venue for us and many.

Visited September 2012
 

jonnys872

via Tripadvisor

"Great Place, Good Food"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 24 September 2012

My sister and I stopped in at Lanigans when we were in Kilkenny September 7th, 2012. I'm assuming the guy that greeted us and took our orders was the owner. He had a great personality and was very attentive. We both ordered the shepards pie and soup with a side of chips. The food was good and the staff was very friendly. What a great bar!

Visited September 2012

Beck2012 Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

via Tripadvisor

"Great Traditional Irish Music!"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 17 September 2012

Really enjoyed the traditional Irish music... And had the best fish & chips in kilkenny!

The big tall fella with the mustache served us I believe he was the owner... He was great fun :-)

The place has a lovely Irish feel...Definitely will come back!

Visited August 2012
 

Cesar P Caracas

via Tripadvisor

"GREAT NIGHT AT LANIGANS"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 17 September 2012

Recently dropped in to the famous Lanigan's bar in KK. What a night. Hooked up with the Big Richard and enjoyed his company immensely. What a poet?? The place was hopping, fish and chips best I had in a long time. If you're visiting KK this joint cant be missed!!

See you soon Richard,
Visited September 2012
 

triona h cork

via Tripadvisor

  • Excellent Stay & Staff. We stayed recently at Lanigans Hostel where we came to stay for a wonderful Hen party which was organised by them.

    Celia, Dublin, Ireland (via Tripadvisor)
  • "Brilliant Hen Party activity". 16 of us had a great time on the Kilkenny Way Experience - Jim and everybody else on the Kilkenny Way team were really friendly and welcoming.It's the best thing to do in Kilkenny

    Jane R Belfast
    via Tripadvisor
  • We recently attending the cocktail making classes in Lanigans bar. I cannot thank the two guys who did the cocktail enough they were brill!! We shall be recommending ye to our hen friends :)

    Limericklass13 Limerick, Ireland
    via Tripadvisor

Contact Details


Address
Lanigans Bar, Restaurant & Hostel
28/29 Rose Inn Street
Kilkenny City, Ireland.

Phone: +353 (0)56 7721718
Fax: +353 (0)56 7721718
E-mail: info@lanigans.ie